A Butterfly Cure For The Winter Blues (aka Bite Me Polar Vortex)

It happens this time every year. I go a little crazy.

Months of seemingly endless cold and grey, and time spent sequestered in my apartment (doesn’t help that my home is also my office), has me jumping out of  my skin. AMNH_-1971

I recently spent 10 days in Florida for this exact reason, but the polar vortex was in full swing upon my return and I quickly fell back into my malaise.

Enter the Butterfly Conservatory in the American Museum on Natural History (AMNH), in New York City (or wherever you might find one near you).

For me it’s a delightful afternoon escape – with lots of photographic opportunities – from the winter blues. It’s as if you’ve been transported to Costa Rica.

Ok, that might be overdoing it but you get my drift.

If you haven’t been, I highly recommend it. If you have children it’s really a…

View original post 388 more words

Leave a Reply

